

The President

22.01.2025

Mr Pascal Schonard Director Authority for European Political Parties and European Political Foundations (APPF) European Parliament

Dear Mr Schonard,

Under Article 11(1) of Regulation (EU, Euratom) No 1141/2014 on the statute and funding of European political parties and European political foundations, a committee of independent eminent persons consisting of six members is established, with the European Parliament, the Council and the Commission each appointing two members. The committee is renewed within six months after the end of the first session of the European Parliament following each election to the European Parliament, and the mandate of the members is not renewable.

I am pleased to inform you that at its meeting of 15 January 2025, the Conference of Presidents endorsed Mr Pablo Vázquez and Ms Anna Pacześniak as the European Parliament's appointments, on the understanding that they are fully aware of their duties and responsibilities arising from the aforementioned Regulation and on condition that they commit themselves to exercising those duties in full independence and in full compliance with that Regulation.

I trust that the Authority will take the necessary steps to assist the members of the APPF appointed by Parliament, the Council and the Commission.

Yours sincerely,



Roberta Metsola

Copy: Mr Simon, Chair of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs